Ortho Oracle - orthopaedic operative atlas
Home » Nerves Menu » Lumbar Plexus

Lumbar Plexus

- Anatomy:
    - primary ventral rami of five lumbar nerves and of first four sacral nerves combine to form the lumbar (L1, L2, L3, L4) & lumbosacral
           (L4, L5, S1, S2, S3, S4) plexuses, each giving rise to anterior and posterior branches;
          - anterior branches supply flexor muscles of limb, while posterior branches supply extensor and abductor muscles;
    - largest of these derivatives are femoral & obturator nerve;
    - cutaneous branches include:
          - lioinguinal (L1), genitofemoral nerve  (L1, L2), iliohypogastric, nerve nerve (L1) & lateral cutaneous nerve of thigh (L2, L3
                  supplying lateral & anterolateral thigh